Saturday, December 31, 2016

Life Lately | December

Friday, December 30, 2016

Recent Reads | December

Between the end of a semester and the holiday season, it's never hard to find free time to read in December. This year in particular I found myself with copious amounts of spare time as all of my finals were stacked into 27 hours and my thesis deadline was a day later, and beyond that I had no time obligations. This December I finished 12 books, including this year's Man Booker Prize winner, several short story and poetry collections, some thrillers, and some good old fashioned romances.

Monday, December 26, 2016

2016 | Favourite Books

Thursday, December 22, 2016

2016 | Favourite Albums

2016 may have been a fairly terrible year overall, but the music world certainly didn't reflect it. From the fierce surprise return of Beyoncé to the poppy arrival of Shura and everyone else in between, 2016 was a year of musical goodness. Nearly every release on this list is a much anticipated debut from a band whose entry EP I adored, so it's safe to say I deeply love each of these artists.

Monday, December 19, 2016

A Journey of Creativity

Friday, December 16, 2016

7 Things I Learned at University

Tuesday, December 13, 2016

2016 | Favourite TV Shows

It's that time of year again - a chance to reflect on some of the year's best entertainment and relive some of the more exciting picks. Television shows this year were particularly good; Netflix originals continue to impress and the slate of new shows were incredible. Below I've listed my top five favourite shows of 2016.

Monday, December 5, 2016

Five Favourite Female Authors

Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Life Lately | November

Monday, November 28, 2016

Recent Reads | November

This past month I've had precious little free time, but five consecutive days off for Thanksgiving gave me plenty of time to dig into some library loans. Over the month I made it through nine novels, most of which were fluffy and meaningless in content but provided some welcome escapism.

Monday, November 21, 2016

Art Deco Night | Rolling Sculptures


Saturday, November 19, 2016

A Run Through Raleigh History


Saturday, November 5, 2016

Currently | The Vicar of Dibley

Wednesday, November 2, 2016

November Goals

Monday, October 31, 2016

Life in Photos | October, ii

Sunday, October 30, 2016

Life Lately | October

Friday, October 28, 2016

Recent Reads | October

Short books make all the difference when you want to get through as many as possible, and this October I made it through 9, most of which right at the 300 page mark. I tried to maintain a solid mix of genres and fiction/nonfiction and discovered a number of good reads.

Tuesday, October 25, 2016

Nothing Could Be Finer | NC State Fair


Monday, October 24, 2016

A Lifelong Love of Monet

Wednesday, October 19, 2016

Life in Photos | October, i


Monday, October 17, 2016

22 (Over S∞∞n)

Friday, October 14, 2016

2AM. Playlist

Wednesday, October 12, 2016

Autumn / Winter Reads | Part II

Monday, October 10, 2016

The Final Fall Break


Friday, October 7, 2016

Gilmore Girls | Luke's Diner Day


Friday, September 30, 2016

Life Lately | September

Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Recent Reads | September

I've found, particularly this semester, that reading makes for a perfect break from university work, and so I've continued my habit of always keeping a book in my bag and pulling it out to read every so often. I made it through seven books this month, most of them quite short, but nonetheless engaging for the moments of relief they brought. 

Monday, September 26, 2016

Grace Potter | The Magical Midnight Road Show


Wednesday, September 21, 2016

2016 | Music Midtown

Monday, September 12, 2016

Britney Spears Book Tag


I first saw this post by Bee on Vivatramp  and liked it so much I adopted it for my own. I took out a few of the questions that I didn't really have answers for, but otherwise I left the original thread intact.

Wednesday, September 7, 2016

Tryon Palace


Monday, September 5, 2016

New Bern, NC


Wednesday, August 31, 2016

Life Lately | August


Monday, August 29, 2016

Recent Reads | August

Two weeks left completely free between switching jobs meant there was plenty of time to start the ever-growing stack of books on my shelves clamoring to be read. I was able to get through eight books this month, just in time to get some much anticipated reads in before the semester picks up again and I have to put reading on the side.

Wednesday, August 17, 2016

The Last First Day of Class


Friday, August 12, 2016

2016 | Fall Semester Goals


Wednesday, August 10, 2016

Topsail Island


Sunday, July 31, 2016

Recent Reads | July

After a few lackluster months of reading, I fell right back into my love of it after reading some incredible books this month. With a few weeks of vacation between the end of my job and the start of the new semester, I hope to squeeze in a few more books to meet my reading challenge for the year.


Friday, July 29, 2016

Life Lately | July


Monday, July 25, 2016

A Little Life | Hanya Yanagihara


Friday, July 22, 2016

Duke Gardens


Friday, July 8, 2016

Recent Reads | Vintage Classics


Sunday, July 3, 2016

Recent Reads | June


Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City by Matthew Desmond
It doesn't often happen that a nonfiction book sticks with me weeks after reading it, but Evicted is such a hard, provoking look at America's inner city poverty that it's impossible to think of anything else. Desmond looks into the lives of eight families based in Milwaukee, traces their history in the city, and outlines the problems these families face as they attempt to make a life out of their circumstances. Evicted provides a look into a life of extreme poverty while detailing how many people ended up in these situations, and suggests a few ideas as to how the US could do better by its poorest.

Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Life Lately | June


Thursday, June 23, 2016

The 1975 | Tour


Monday, June 13, 2016

Ellie Goulding | Delirium World Tour


Sunday, June 5, 2016

Life Lately | A Free Weekend


Monday, May 30, 2016

Life Lately | May


Saturday, May 28, 2016

Recent Reads | May

The end of the school semester/year would, in theory, mean more time to read, and yet I've found the opposite to be true. Constant assignment deadlines are gone, but with the ending of the semester also came the end of a consistent routine, and as I currently work only part-time my schedule changes on a weekly basis, making it harder to plan time for things. I read a number of short works this month but I'll only mention my two favourites from May.


Sunday, May 22, 2016

Currently | Update No. 2


Coming off of eleven consecutive days of work to a free weekend feels like a welcome chance to catch my breath and get the creative juices flowing again, and I'm making the most of it by - what else? - typing away on my laptop in corner tables in coffee shops and borrowing too many books from the library. With the full summer ahead of me, plans are solidifying and I'm finally starting to believe I have the free time to relax, even just a bit.